My Most Precious Birthday Gift

I have always wanted “someone” to write a song for me.  There aren’t too many Robin songs out there.  There is the ever popular “Rocking Robin” which I have been known to burst into song singing.  There is a little known song called the “Nantucket Sleigh Ride” which has the lyrics, “Good-bye, little Robin Marie, don’t try following me. Don’t cry, little Robin Marie, cause you know I’m coming home soon.”  But that is about it.

Then for my birthday my wonderful husband wrote lyrics to a song for me!!! I don’t know if it will ever have music, but it brought tears to my eyes and  joy to my heart.  He took so much of what I was feeling and the things that I said and put it into eloquent words.   There is no denying that I have the most awesome, loving and creative husband ever!  I have been truly blessed!!!

How Did I Get Here?

A Song for Robin

What do you mean I’m not well, I feel just fine

There must be a mistake, say that one more time!

Where did it come from, there was never a sign

Before it appeared, my life was all mine

The plans that I had, the dreams and my goals

All put on hold, the moment I’m told

First shock, then tears, then worrying what’s next

How bad will this be, what to expect?

Now I walk through my days with the future unknown

Feeling out of control, feeling very alone

How did this happen, why me, why me?

Did I do something wrong? Can I leave this bad dream?

This is a fear, I’ve never known

I’m scared and confused and just want it gone

I’m in a fog and feel quite numb

Just keep on swimming until I am done!

I don’t know how I got here, but I know who I am

I will fight this, and I fight to win

I will face all challenges with my head held high

I will win this battle with my friends by my side”

The doctors, the tests, the needles, the stress

I’m caught in a whirlwind, can’t catch my breath

My friends and my family, I’m in all their prayers

This helps me get through, but won’t save my hair

Sooooo tired, so sick, will this work in the end

How did I get here, can I start over again?

Just as I think I will lose my mind

A light in the distance, begins to shine

I reach out my hand, towards the warm glow

What is it out there, this I don’t know

From out of the warmth, they step slowly forward

One by one they keep coming, their numbers untold

It’s my sisters, like me, veterans of the fight

So eager to help, able to ease my fright

They share their stories, a lot like my own

For the very first time, I’m not so alone

They’ve been there before me, conquered their fears

These lessons they pass, I am all ears

Their love is contagious, it fills me with hope

There is a life after, I now know I can cope

I don’t know how I got here, but I know who I am

I will fight this, and I fight to win

I will face all challenges with my head held high

I will win this battle with my friends by my side”

So I march on through this, one day at a time

Determined as ever to reclaim what is mine

My senses are keener, I see life more clearly

I know what’s important, each day I greet dearly

They say what doesn’t kill us will just make us stronger,

Then nothing can hurt me now, my fate I won’t ponder

So here is to life, which I’ll live to the fullest!

With my family and new sisters…… I know I am blessed:’)

 I don’t know how I got here, but I know who I am

I will fight this, and I fight to win

I will face all challenges with my head held high

I will win this battle with my friends by my side”

 For my wife, the love of my life!

By Earle Kirkley III

10 thoughts on “My Most Precious Birthday Gift

  1. Pingback: My Most Precious Birthday Gift | pinkrobin

  2. I always knew Earle was a great guy and this just strengthens my belief. What beautiful lyrics……I can’t wait to hear the song (I know it will be a song someday). Keep your strong attitude, my friend, it will take you through this struggle as will the love of your wonderful husband, Earle. My love to both of you!
    Maureen

  3. So beautiful for so many reasons. That your husband would love you so much that he could capture your feelings and translate them into words is amazing. His talent is amazing, but more so is his connection to you. You have a strong marriage relationship and that is beautiful to see.

  4. The way he lights up when ever he speaks of you I always knew how much he loves you. How wonderful he can express it in yet another way. Hope you enjoyed the stew and applesauce.

Leave a Reply

